Be Fit to Travel, Travel to be Fit

Ok, I admit it, I drank the Kool-aid. Last night was my first session of CrossFit with my boyfriend.  By the end of my first workout my entire body was shaking, I was fighting the urge to throw up and I felt completely empowered.  Now, I always thought that CrossFit was for the insanely fit, work out junkies and egotistical jocks, so I was a bit skeptical walking in.  I am none of those things.  I was pleasantly surprised with genial greetings, step by step instructions when I got stuck, and a true sense of community.  

Now you may be asking why a diehard lazy girl  would put themselves through these crazy workouts.  Can’t you just go jogging like normal people? Nope.  Not going to happen. Much like my wanderlust taking me from country to country, I crave new and exciting things for my daily workout.  If I begin to get too familiar with any workout I jump ship.  Enter the beauty of CrossFit: every session brings a new WOD (Workout of the Day) and a new test for my body.  

I am starting this new healthy lifestyle because I am happiest when I can travel and explore every nook and cranny of a new destination.  If I can’t make it up the three flights of stairs to my apartment without getting winded, how am I supposed to really   enjoy traversing the streets of a foreign city?  I firmly believe that the happiest and most involved travelers are ones with physically fit and healthy bodies.  With a healthy body I can do more and see more while maintaining a perky and adventurous energy.  There really is nothing I can lose with this new venture, and only plenty for me to gain.  

Everyone has a reason to be fit.  What is yours? 

Image

Leave a Reply

